Mr. Rakesh beat Ms. Shashi by 278 votes — Bansal junior secured 1,364 votes against Ms. Shashi 1,086 votes. The defeat might prove to be the end of the road for Mr. Khanna in DDCA, where he enjoyed supreme power for nearly three decades.

Mr. Sharma was always considered as the favourite to win against Mr. Lal, who was backed by Mr. Khanna and former India opener Chetan Chauhan’s group. With the DDCA being the first among equals to go into elections after the Supreme Court-appointed Lodha Committee suggested path-breaking structural reforms, the polling also witnessed abolition of proxy system with nearly 3,000 voters turning up to cast their vote. Among the other notable winners was former sports committee head Vinod Tihara, (1,374 votes) who became secretary defeating nearest rival Manjeet Singh (998) by 376 votes.

Sanjay Bhardwaj was elected for the director’s post (first-class cricketer) while Renu Khanna became the women director. The other directors elected were Apruv Jain, son of former media manager Ravi Jain, who secured 1,286 votes, Alok Mittal, Nitin Gupta, Shiv Nandan Sharma and Nitin Agarwal. Sharma had thrown his hat into the ring for the post on May 16. Padma Bhushan awardee journalist is the Chairman and Chief Editor of Hindi news channel INDIA TV.​

Rajat Sharma the President of DDCA.

Renowned journalist Rajat Sharma was elected as the President of Delhi & District Cricket Association on Monday after polling 54.40 percent of the total votes cast. Sharma surpassed former World Cup winning Indian cricketer Madan Lal by 517 votes to register his win. Sharma’s group swept all the 12 seats in the elections. The journalist got a total of 1531 votes while former Test cricketer Lal could only poll 1004 votes, while advocate Vikas Singh only managed to get 232 votes.

Rakesh Kumar Bansal was also elected as the Vice President with 48.87% votes in his favour, younger brother of former DDCA president Sneh Bansal, defeated BCCI acting president CK Khanna’s wife Shashi to register his win. Sharma and his panel’s candidature was backed by a political heavyweight from the ruling party with the IOA president Narinder Batra throwing in all his might. Batra incidentally is a former DDCA treasurer.