Padma Shri recipient Liladhar Jaguri has been chosen for the prestigious Vyas Samman award for his poetry collection, Jitne Log Utne Prem, published in 2013. The award, instituted in 1991 and given by the KK Birla Foundation, recognises outstanding literary work in Hindi authored by an Indian citizen and published during the last 10 years. It carries a cash prize of Rs 4 lakh. In this compilation, he travels through the passages of words where the strongest of ideas are cultivated into a flexible form under its creative dominance.

Liladhar Jaguri is chosen for the prestigious Vyas Samman award for his outstanding work in poetry.

Born on July 1, 1940, in Uttarakhand’s Tehri Garhwal, Jaguri has a master’s degree in Hindi literature. Driven by his passion for literature, he resigned from the army and took the job of a schoolteacher. He later sat for a public service commission examination and joined the Uttar Pradesh information service. He was also appointed the first editor of the Uttaranchal Darshan, and served as the vice-president of the Uttarakhand Culture, Literature and Arts Council. A recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Award, the Akashvani National Award and the Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman, Jaguri was picked for the 28th Vyas Samman 2018 by a jury headed by eminent littérateur Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari.

Hindi literature has many phases. Similarly, Mr. Jaguri’s poems represent different stages as he imbibes every turning point of his life and reflects all which are recollected in tranquillity. On the surface, his compilation appears to be a collection of simple love poems, but deep within, it is also an attempt to get liberated from the stereotyped definition of love.

The Foundation has feted him for nurturing, “life in poetry amidst experiences and through language”. Apart from the Vyas Samman, the KK Birla Foundation every year presents the Saraswati Samman, which carries a prize of Rs 15 lakh and is given to an outstanding literary work by an Indian citizen in any of the languages mentioned in Schedule VIII of the Constitution. Also, the Bihari Puraskar, with a cash prize of Rs 2.50 lakh, is given to Hindi/Rajasthani writers from Rajasthan.